Connecting to Collections Care Online Community

Question about Conservation Repainting/Ethics

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Jacob Petrie
      Participant

I am a student considering possible conservation issues and so my question is purely hypothetical. That said, my example comes from a real discussion about a real object.

If you have an object that is, for all intents and purposes, the last of its kind, but beyond that has no major historical significance, what would be a good guide for the limitations of conservation work? Specifically, if you wanted to use this object as a “stand-in” for another of its kind, but the more historically significant object (which no longer exists) was painted a different color, would it be ethical to strip the existing paint job and repaint it to match the more “important” object?

As a secondary, and maybe more concrete question, assuming the same object: The object is going to go on display as is (not as a stand-in) but due to age/use much of the paint has chipped off or discolored, and the original paint is no longer know/accessible, would it be more reasonable to strip the object and repaint it, or try to fill in the holes with a very closely matching paint?

I realize that these are both very open ended questions, but I’m trying to get a sense of how much is too much. For details, assume that the object (or the painted parts) is all aluminum.

Anne Schaffer
      Participant

Hi Jacob,

While there’s always a lot of discussion about how to handle any object and its presentation, there are actually fairly clear guidelines in these instances. Of course, particulars about the object and circumstances would be crucial to making any of these decisions.

As with any objects, theoretical or no, any treatment should be evaluated and performed by a trained conservator familiar with the pieces, since the ethics in these situations can be complicated. That said, I’ll try to give a general answer.