Connecting to Collections Care Online Community

Archival Holdings Maintenance question

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Cassandra
      Participant

I am a graduate student in museum studies and am currently interning at an archive. Throughout my internship, I have noticed that holdings maintenance often takes a back seat to the creation of descriptions and finding aids. I understand that the content is important and that we are all under a time crunch, but it seems odd to me that we are not placing as much of an emphasis on collections preservation. My question therefore, is this common practice in other archives? If so, are we doing all that we can to preserve our archival collections? In other words, is it better to do a little given our lack of time and resources, than nothing, or should we be doing all we can to ensure that we are following best practices?

Miriam Centeno
      Participant

Cassandra, I think that your post brings out many issues that now seem to be perennial questions on the ability of archives to keep up with the processing and the preservation of their materials.

As a preservation worker, I have the luxury of relying quite heavily on that initial processing done by the archivist, so I can do my work of repair and rehousing, knowing that I am not disturbing the original order and that there is some documentation that is attached to the items that I am working with.

Many archivists do not have the budget and staff support to do both and concentrate on the organization of the information now, while looking for further funding to help take care of the physical care of the collection later. As I see it the first task of preservation is having intellectual control of your holdings.

I hope that other colleagues can contribute to the discussion to other views on this topic.

Below are some resources for those who may be interested in learning more about these issues: